Hunza Eats - Journal
Shilajit Dosage: What Doses Were Tested, Which Forms Differ and What Is Just Habit
How much shilajit should you take? Ask ten sellers and you will get ten answers: a pea-sized piece, a rice-grain-sized piece, 300 mg, 500 mg, "one scoop", "two capsules". Traditional practitioners never used milligrams at all. They used a pinch, adjusted by eye for the person and the season. A modern label has to translate that into a number, and the number on a jar tells you much less than it appears to.
This guide does three things. It lists the doses that were actually used in every human study we could find, so you can see what has been tested and for how long. It looks at the differences between resin, powder, capsules, extracts, gummies and chocolate, using the only independent laboratory comparison of products we could find. And it sorts the common advice about timing, starting low, taking breaks and maximum doses into what is supported by evidence and what is habit or marketing. We also correct several claims that appeared on this site before we rewrote the page, including one about the highest dose ever tested that turned out to be wrong.
For what shilajit is and what the research shows, see our complete guide. For side effects and contamination, see the safety guide.
- No regulator has set a dose for shilajit. The only guide is the doses used in trials: 200 mg to 1,000 mg a day of extract or resin, most often 500 mg a day, for 28 days to 48 weeks.
- Doses in trials were mostly split into two a day, but one trial gave a single daily dose. No study compared morning with evening, so advice about the "best time" is tradition, not evidence.
- Independent tests of eight products found fulvic acid ranging from 6.9 mg to 2,206 mg per serving, and resins had less than extracts. A dose in "milligrams of shilajit" is therefore an unreliable measure.
- One Shilajit Choco Bite contains approximately 50 mg of shilajit. Matching a typical trial dose of 500 mg would take about ten bites, which we do not recommend.
- Starting low, cycling on and off and capping at 1,000 mg a day are sensible caution commonly repeated by sellers, but none of them was tested in a trial.
Why there is no official shilajit dose
Medicines have doses because they go through trials that establish what works and what is safe, and a regulator approves a label. Shilajit has not been through that process for any condition. In most countries it is sold as a dietary or food supplement, which means the seller decides the suggested serving and does not have to prove that it works. Our buying guide explains the regulatory position in the United States, the United Kingdom and Canada. The result is that "the recommended dose" on a jar is the seller's choice, and different sellers choose very different numbers.
The nearest thing to evidence is what researchers gave to volunteers. That is limited, but it is real, and it is where this guide starts.
The doses used in human studies
Table 1 lists every human study of shilajit we found where the dose was stated, with the daily amount, how it was split and how long people took it. The studies used different preparations: a purified extract, a processed shilajit, a standardised aqueous extract, capsules and a resin. That is one reason a dose from one study cannot simply be carried over to another product.
| Study | Preparation | Dose | Per day | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biswas 2010, oligospermic men | Processed shilajit capsules | 100 mg twice a day after major meals | 200 mg | 90 days |
| Pandit 2016, healthy men 45 to 55 | Purified shilajit | 250 mg twice a day | 500 mg | 90 days |
| Das 2016, overweight adults | Purified, standardised extract | 250 mg twice a day | 500 mg | 8 weeks, then 4 weeks with exercise |
| Das 2019, healthy women | Herbo-mineral shilajit | 125 mg or 250 mg twice a day | 250 mg or 500 mg | 14 weeks |
| Keller 2019, active men | PrimaVie purified shilajit | 250 mg or 500 mg a day | 250 mg or 500 mg | 8 weeks |
| Neltner 2022, trained men | Shilajit supplement | 500 mg or 1,000 mg a day | 500 mg or 1,000 mg | 8 weeks |
| Pingali 2022, postmenopausal women | Standardised aqueous extract | 250 mg or 500 mg daily | 250 mg or 500 mg | 48 weeks |
| Sadeghi 2020, tibia fracture | Capsules, 500 mg each | Two capsules (split not stated in the abstract) | Not stated | 28 days |
| Yadav 2026, healthy men | Resin | 250 mg twice a day | 500 mg | 28 days |
Three patterns stand out. The doses cluster around 500 mg a day: seven of the nine studies included an arm taking exactly that amount. The lowest tested was 200 mg a day and the highest was 1,000 mg a day. And the doses that were tested cover a factor of five, so there is no evidence about anything smaller than 200 mg or larger than 1,000 mg. Figure 1 shows the daily doses, with one Shilajit Choco Bite for scale.
The chart is the reason we do not call our bites a "clinical dose". One bite is a tenth of the most common trial dose. It would take about four bites to reach the lowest studied daily amount and about ten to reach 500 mg, the amount in the testosterone trial. Table 2 spells that out, together with what it means for how long a 60-bite pack would last.
| Daily dose in a study | Equivalent bites a day | A 60-bite pack lasts | Comment |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50 mg (one bite) | 1 | 60 days | Below any studied dose |
| 200 mg (Biswas 2010) | 4 | 15 days | Lowest studied dose; processed shilajit, not a bite |
| 250 mg (low arms) | 5 | 12 days | In Keller 2019 this dose did no better than placebo on the strength outcome |
| 500 mg (most common) | 10 | 6 days | Not a sensible way to take a chocolate product |
| 1,000 mg (highest studied) | 20 | 3 days | Impractical, and the chocolate and sweetener add up |
We show the table so you can see the gap and make your own decision. One bite a day is a treat with a little shilajit in it. It is not a way to follow a research protocol.
A correction: the highest dose that has been tested
Before we rewrote this page it said that none of the clinical trials had tested more than 500 mg a day, so there was "no clinical evidence at all" for higher doses. That was wrong. The 2022 Nebraska trial by Neltner and colleagues gave 35 recreationally trained men 500 mg or 1,000 mg a day for 8 weeks, and the fracture trial gave two 500 mg capsules. What is true is that no study went above about 1,000 mg a day, and that the 1,000 mg dose was studied for only 8 weeks in 35 young men. It measured a blood marker of collagen synthesis, which rose on both doses, and it was not designed to show that a higher dose is safer or works better. Whether 1,000 mg does more than 500 mg is not established.
Resin, powder, capsules, extract, gummies or chocolate: what the tests show
The form you choose affects the dose you actually get. There is much confident advice online about which form is "strongest" and which is "most bioavailable". Bioavailability, the fraction of a substance that reaches the bloodstream, would need a study that measures blood levels after taking each form. We found none that compares resin, powder and capsules head to head, so any ranking of forms by absorption is an inference from processing, not a measured result.
What we do have is an independent laboratory comparison of products. In September 2024 ConsumerLab tested eight shilajit products, including capsules, tablets, gummies and resins: Banyan Botanicals Shilajit, Cymbiotika and PurBlack Shilajit Live Resin, Lotus Blooming Herbs Authentic Shilajit, Nootropics Depot PrimaVie Purified Shilajit Capsules 250 mg, Organifi Shilajit Gummies, Pure Himalayan Shilajit Dry Drops, Swanson Shilajit Extract Extra Strength and Youtheory Shilajit. Its findings that bear on dose were these:
- All products contained fulvic acid, but the amounts ranged from 6.9 mg to 2,206 mg per serving, a difference of nearly 32,000%.
- Resin formulations contained substantially less fulvic acid than the concentrated extract capsules and pills.
- One product could not be approved because it contained far more fulvic acid than its label said.
- The cost of 100 mg of shilajit ranged from 10 cents to more than 8 dollars, and extract formulations were more economical than resins for an equivalent amount of fulvic acid.
Two things follow. First, "500 mg of shilajit" is not a fixed quantity of anything in particular. Depending on the product, 500 mg could deliver a handful of milligrams of fulvic acid or hundreds. Second, the old idea that the least processed form is the most potent does not hold up: the resins in that test had less fulvic acid per serving than extracts, and a few sentences on this site that quoted "60 to 80% fulvic acid" for resin and "20 to 50%" for capsules came from seller literature and do not match the independent results. We have removed them. Table 3 sets out what we can and cannot say about each form.
| Form | Used in human studies? | Independent test finding | Practical points |
|---|---|---|---|
| Resin | Yes: 250 mg twice a day for 28 days in a 25-man pilot | Less fulvic acid per serving than extracts; costlier per unit of fulvic acid | Portions are measured by eye or small scale, so dose varies; strong taste |
| Extract capsules and tablets | Yes: most trials used purified or standardised extracts or capsules | Highest fulvic acid per serving and better value per unit of fulvic acid | Fixed dose per capsule; check that the label states the extract and its standardisation |
| Powder | Not found | Not among the products tested | No data; do not assume it is stronger or weaker |
| Gummies | Not found | One gummy product was among the eight; the release does not single out its result | Check milligrams of shilajit per gummy; sugar comes with the dose |
| Chocolate bites (ours) | No | No independent analysis of our product | Approximately 50 mg of shilajit per bite (product page); fixed and countable, low in absolute terms |
How to compare two shilajit products before you buy
Because the milligrams-of-shilajit figure hides so much, three numbers are worth working out for any product you are considering. The first is the milligrams of shilajit in a serving, which the label should state. The second is the fulvic acid per serving, which a good seller will state and support with a laboratory report, and which for the products ConsumerLab tested ranged over a factor of more than 300. The third is the price per 100 mg of shilajit, which is the total price divided by the total milligrams, times 100.
A worked example, with made-up round numbers to show the arithmetic and not any real product: a 30 g jar of resin costing 30 dollars holds 30,000 mg, which is 300 portions of 100 mg, so it costs 10 cents per 100 mg. That is the cheap end of ConsumerLab's range. A 60-capsule bottle of 250 mg capsules costing 24 dollars holds 15,000 mg, which is 150 portions of 100 mg, so it costs 16 cents per 100 mg. The cheaper price per 100 mg does not tell you which delivers more fulvic acid, which is why the second number matters more than the third. A cheap resin with a small fulvic acid share can cost more per unit of the active component than a pricier extract.
The fourth thing, more important than all three, is whether the batch has been tested for heavy metals. Dose without purity is not safe dosing. We explain how to read a certificate of analysis in our buying guide.
Timing, starting low, breaks and limits: an audit of the common advice
Almost every shilajit guide repeats the same handful of rules: take it in the morning before breakfast, start with a tiny amount, take breaks, never exceed 1,000 mg. They are repeated so often that they sound like facts. Table 4 asks of each one where it comes from and whether we found evidence for it.
| Common rule | What the trials did | Evidence for the rule |
|---|---|---|
| Take it in the morning, 30 to 45 minutes before food, to match the cortisol rhythm | Doses were mostly split into two a day; the oligospermia study gave them after major meals | None found. No study compared times of day, and none measured cortisol. It is a traditional and seller convention |
| Avoid the evening because it is stimulating | No trial reported measuring sleep in the abstracts we read | Anecdotal user reports only |
| Take it with food or warm milk if your stomach is sensitive | One study dosed after major meals | Plausible and low risk; not compared in a trial |
| Start at 100 to 150 mg for one to two weeks | The testosterone and resin studies began at the full 250 mg twice a day, with no serious adverse events reported | A sensible caution with any new supplement; no titration trial exists |
| Take a 5 to 7 day break every 8 to 12 weeks | The 48-week bone trial and the 90-day trials ran continuously | None. Neither benefit nor safety of cycling has been tested |
| Never exceed 1,000 mg a day | The highest dose studied was 1,000 mg a day for 8 weeks | The figure matches the top of the studied range. It is not a toxicity threshold we could trace to any regulator or safety study |
| Dissolve resin in warm, not boiling, water | Not described in the abstracts | We found no study of how heat affects shilajit |
None of these rules is dangerous, and several are reasonable. The point is to know which ones are evidence and which are habit. The rule most worth following is one that is on none of the lists: do not judge a dose without knowing what is in the product, and do not exceed what the product's own laboratory documentation supports.
Twice a day or once?
Most of the trials with a stated schedule gave shilajit twice a day. The testosterone trial gave 250 mg twice a day, the muscle gene study 250 mg twice a day, the resin pilot 250 mg twice a day and the skin study 125 mg or 250 mg twice a day. The oligospermia study gave 100 mg twice a day after major meals. The 48-week bone density trial gave 250 mg or 500 mg daily, which suggests a single daily dose, and the muscle strength trial reported daily doses of 250 mg and 500 mg. The abstracts do not report any comparison of once versus twice daily, and there is no reason in the evidence to prefer one. If you choose to try shilajit, the simplest schedule you will actually keep is the best one.
How long to take it
Trials ran from 28 days to 48 weeks, with a typical length of around 90 days, as we show in our complete guide. No human study followed shilajit users for two years. That means anyone who says you should take it "for life" or "for at least six months" is going beyond the evidence in both directions. A reasonable approach, if you decide to try it, is to choose a period, such as 8 to 12 weeks, decide beforehand what you will look for and how you will judge it, and stop if you notice nothing or anything worrying. Because a benefit like bone density or a blood hormone cannot be felt, the honest way to judge it is with a doctor's blood test or scan, not with a sense of "feeling better", which is precisely what a placebo produces.
Do higher doses do more? What the two-dose trials show
A natural question is whether taking more helps. Three studies tested two doses against each other and against placebo, and they let us look at this directly, although only for the outcomes they measured.
In the Nebraska strength trial (Keller 2019), 63 men took 250 mg, 500 mg or placebo daily for 8 weeks. The abstract reports that in the half of the group with higher baseline strength, the fall in strength after a fatiguing test was 8.9% on 500 mg, compared with 17.0% on 250 mg and 16.0% on placebo. The low dose did no better than placebo, while the high dose roughly halved the loss. In a second Nebraska trial (Neltner 2022), 35 men took 500 mg, 1,000 mg or placebo. A blood marker of collagen synthesis rose from about 42.5 to 82.3 ng/mL on the lower dose and from about 42.7 to 113.1 ng/mL on the higher dose, with no significant change on placebo. More men in the higher-dose group (75%) than in the placebo group (30%) had a rise larger than the minimal clinically important difference, while the difference for the lower dose (69%) did not quite reach significance against placebo (P = 0.06). Figure 2 puts these numbers side by side.
The bone density trial (Pingali 2022) points the same way. It tested 250 mg and 500 mg daily for 48 weeks in women with osteopenia, and the abstract describes the preservation of bone density as dose-dependent, with both doses better than placebo. Taken together, these three studies suggest that within the range of 250 mg to 1,000 mg a day the response tends to rise with dose for the outcomes measured. That is a modest pattern, and it comes with three limits. The studies used purified or standardised preparations, so the same milligrams of an unstandardised product may do less. The outcomes were biomarkers, a subgroup and a scan, not how people felt or whether they had fractures. And no study reported what happens to safety as the dose rises in the long term. A dose-response pattern is a reason to think an effect may be real. It is not a reason to raise your dose.
Why "standardised" and "purified" matter on a label
You will see the words purified, processed, standardised and extract in trial descriptions and on labels. They are not interchangeable. A purified shilajit has been cleaned of insoluble rock and debris, usually by dissolving it in water and filtering, and then dried. A standardised extract goes further: the maker measures a marker compound, often fulvic acid, and adjusts or selects material so that each batch contains a stated share of it. Standardisation is what allows two batches, or a trial and a product, to be compared. Without it, "500 mg of shilajit" is a weight of material of unknown composition.
ConsumerLab's finding that fulvic acid per serving varied by a factor of about 320 between the lowest and highest product (2,206 divided by 6.9) is a direct measure of what is missing when labels quote only a weight. The trial doses in Table 1 are doses of the specific preparations that were tested. Some trials named their product, such as PrimaVie in the two Nebraska studies and the resin in the 2026 pilot, and others described it only as purified or processed. When a seller cites "the 500 mg trial" as support for a different product, the honest questions are whether the product is the same preparation, whether it is standardised in the same way, and whether the seller can show it.
Dosing questions by group
People often ask whether the dose should differ for women, older adults or athletes. The honest answer is that the evidence is too thin to tailor it, but here is what each group of studies looked at.
- Men. The hormone studies used 200 mg a day in men with low sperm counts and 500 mg a day in healthy men aged 45 to 55, the muscle studies used 250 mg to 1,000 mg a day in men in their early twenties, and the resin pilot used 500 mg a day in men aged 21 to 55.
- Women. Only two studies enrolled women only. Postmenopausal women aged 45 to 65 received 250 mg or 500 mg a day for 48 weeks, and healthy women received 250 mg or 500 mg a day (as 125 mg or 250 mg twice a day) for 14 weeks. That is the entire dosing evidence for women.
- Older adults. The oldest participants were in their mid-60s. There is no dosing information for people over 65.
- Athletes and gym users. The strength studies were in recreationally active young men over 8 weeks. There are no studies in competitive athletes, and sports bodies that test for banned substances generally warn that supplements can be contaminated, which is a reason for caution if you are tested.
- People with iron issues. Iron is one of the elements found in shilajit, and people with hemochromatosis are advised to avoid it. Dosing evidence for people with low iron does not exist.
- Children and pregnancy. No dosing evidence. Not recommended.
Interactions: what is known and what is assumed
Seller pages commonly warn that shilajit may interact with blood sugar medicines, thyroid medicines and iron supplements. We looked for published interaction studies and did not find any. The warnings are reasoned from shilajit's mineral content and from its effects on the body in laboratory and small human studies, and they are theoretical rather than demonstrated. That does not make them wrong, and it does not make them safe to ignore. If you take medicines for diabetes, thyroid disease, blood pressure, or to suppress the immune system, or if you take iron, a doctor or pharmacist who can see your whole medication list is far better placed than a supplement page to say whether a new supplement is a good idea. The absence of documented interactions is best read as the absence of research.
How to tell whether it is doing anything
Shilajit is sold with promises of feeling better, and that is the least reliable way to judge it, because expectation alone can change how people rate their energy and sleep. If you decide to try it, a slightly more careful approach is worth the effort.
- Pick one thing to measure before you start. For strength, keep a training log with weights and repetitions. For energy, rate it once a day on a scale of 1 to 10 at the same time. For a hormone or bone question, ask a doctor whether a blood test or scan is appropriate, and get the baseline before you begin.
- Change one thing at a time. Starting shilajit in the same week as a new gym programme or a new diet makes it impossible to tell which one helped.
- Allow enough time. The studies that found effects ran for 8 weeks or more, and the bone density benefit was measured at 24 and 48 weeks. A dramatic change within days is more likely to be expectation than pharmacology.
- Repeat the measurement. Hormone levels vary from day to day and lab to lab. A single result is a snapshot, and doctors typically want more than one reading before drawing conclusions.
- Be ready to conclude that it did nothing. That is a legitimate and common result, and it saves you money.
What was monitored for safety at these doses
A dose is only useful if you know what happened to the people who took it. Table 5 lists what each study reported about safety. The picture is reassuring for the purified preparations at the doses tested, and it is worth being clear about how far that reassurance goes.
| Study | Dose and length | What the abstract reports on safety |
|---|---|---|
| Biswas 2010 | 200 mg a day, 90 days | Unaltered liver and kidney profiles; the authors concluded the processed shilajit was safe at the given dose |
| Das 2016 | 500 mg a day, 8 weeks then 4 weeks with exercise | Well tolerated; no change in blood glucose, lipid profile, creatine kinase or myoglobin |
| Das 2019 | 250 or 500 mg a day, 14 weeks | Not associated with any reported adverse effect during the period |
| Sadeghi 2020 | Two 500 mg capsules, 28 days | No significant difference in reported adverse effects between shilajit and placebo (P = 0.839) |
| Yadav 2026 | 500 mg a day, 28 days | No serious adverse events; liver, kidney and blood parameters stayed within normal limits |
| Pandit 2016, Pingali 2022, Keller 2019, Neltner 2022 | 250 to 1,000 mg a day, 8 to 48 weeks | The abstracts do not report safety findings, so we cannot say what was or was not seen |
Notice what this does not cover. All of the studies used purified or processed preparations, not raw shilajit, and none of the abstracts reports testing the material for heavy metals. The trials were short, the largest enrolled 160 people, and a rare problem, or one that builds up slowly, would not show. "No adverse effects reported" in a small group over 14 weeks is a much weaker statement than "safe". The contamination question, which is the real safety issue with shilajit, is the subject of our safety guide, and the honest answer there is that it depends on the product, not on the dose.
Three common mistakes when reading dose information
Treating a weight of shilajit as a weight of the studied extract. The trials dosed specific purified or standardised preparations. A gram of raw resin, a gram of powder and a gram of standardised extract are not the same thing, and the independent tests showed that products of the same nominal weight can differ enormously in fulvic acid. Matching the number of milligrams is not the same as matching the dose.
Assuming that more is better because the pattern in the trials rises with dose. The dose-response pattern in Figure 2 is for particular outcomes, over 8 weeks, in young men. It says nothing about whether 1,000 mg is better than 500 mg for your goal, or whether it is safe for a year. A dose-response pattern in a trial is a reason to think an effect is real, and it is not a recommendation to escalate.
Treating the studied range as an approved range. A regulator has not approved 200 mg to 1,000 mg a day as safe. It is simply the range that researchers tested in a few hundred people. Someone with kidney disease, liver disease, an iron disorder or a complicated medication list was in general not part of those studies, so the range may not apply to them.
What we changed on this page
This page replaces earlier Hunza Eats pages on shilajit dosage, on resin versus powder versus capsules, and on the best time to take shilajit. In rewriting them we checked their claims against the sources and changed the following, and we would rather say so than let the corrections pass unnoticed.
- We removed the statement that no trial had tested more than 500 mg a day. A 1,000 mg a day arm was tested for 8 weeks.
- We removed the fulvic acid percentages quoted for each form, which came from seller literature. Independent testing found that resins had less fulvic acid per serving than extracts, and that fulvic acid per serving varied enormously between products.
- We removed the claim that morning dosing aligns with the cortisol rhythm. No study we found supports it.
- We removed the ranking of forms by bioavailability presented as if measured, and the claim about which form is most often adulterated, because we could not find independent data for either.
- We changed the description of our own product. Earlier pages implied that the shilajit in the Choco Bites had been tested. We have not published a batch-matched laboratory report on this site, and the page now says so.
If you decide to try shilajit: a cautious plan
We do not recommend shilajit to anyone. But if you have read this far and want to try it, this is how we would go about it, based on the evidence above and on ordinary caution.
- Check that it is suitable. Do not use it if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, if you have hemochromatosis or another iron-overload disorder, an autoimmune condition, or kidney or liver disease unless your doctor agrees. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist if you take prescription medicines. See our safety guide.
- Choose a product with documentation. Look for the milligrams of shilajit and, ideally, the fulvic acid per serving, a named collection region, a stated purification method and a batch-matched heavy metal report.
- Start with a modest amount. A low starting dose is a sensible caution even though the trials did not require one. Increase only if you have no problems, and stay within the studied range of 200 mg to 1,000 mg a day.
- Take it in a way you will keep to. Once or twice a day, with food if your stomach is sensitive.
- Set an end date and a measure. Decide in advance how you will judge whether it did anything, and review at 8 to 12 weeks.
- Stop if anything is wrong. Rash, swelling, breathing difficulty, persistent nausea or any other unusual symptom means stop and seek advice.
If you are trying our Shilajit Choco Bites, note again that the product page describes them as approximately 0.05 g (50 mg) of shilajit each, recommends them for adults 40 and over and says they are not for people with hemochromatosis. We have not published a batch-matched heavy metal report for the shilajit in them, and until we do, please weigh that. Our product page has the details.
Frequently asked questions
How much shilajit should I take a day?
There is no official dose. Human studies used 200 mg to 1,000 mg a day of extract or resin, most often 500 mg, for 28 days to 48 weeks. The right amount for a given product depends on how concentrated it is, which is why the label and laboratory report matter.
What is the best time of day to take shilajit?
No study has compared times of day. Morning is the traditional and commonly recommended time, and taking it with food may be gentler on the stomach, but neither has been tested.
Is resin stronger than capsules?
Not according to independent testing of eight products, in which resins contained less fulvic acid per serving than concentrated extract capsules and pills. Resin is the least processed form, but that does not make it the most concentrated.
Do I need to take breaks?
No trial has tested breaks. The 48-week bone density trial ran without them and reported benefits, and the abstract does not mention a need to stop.
Is 1,000 mg a day safe?
It is the highest dose we found in a human study, tested for 8 weeks in 35 young men. It is not a proven safe limit for everyone or for long periods, and it depends on the product's purity.
How many Choco Bites equal a study dose?
At about 50 mg of shilajit per bite, about 4 bites reach the lowest studied dose and about 10 reach 500 mg. We do not recommend eating that many, and the preparations differ, so the comparison is only arithmetic.
This article is for general information and is not medical advice. It has not been evaluated by the FDA, Health Canada, the MHRA or any other regulator, and shilajit or any product containing it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. If you are pregnant, breastfeeding, managing a health condition or taking medication, speak to a qualified healthcare provider before using it.
Sources
- Biswas TK, Pandit S, Mondal S, et al. Clinical evaluation of spermatogenic activity of processed Shilajit in oligospermia. Andrologia 2010;42(1):48-56. PMID 20078516.
- Pandit S, Biswas S, Jana U, De RK, Mukhopadhyay SC, Biswas TK. Clinical evaluation of purified Shilajit on testosterone levels in healthy volunteers. Andrologia 2016;48(5):570-5. PMID 26395129.
- Das A, Datta S, Rhea B, et al. The human skeletal muscle transcriptome in response to oral Shilajit supplementation. J Med Food 2016;19(7):701-9. PMID 27414521.
- Das A, El Masry MS, Gnyawali SC, et al. Skin transcriptome of middle-aged women supplemented with natural herbo-mineral Shilajit. J Am Coll Nutr 2019;38(6):526-36. PMID 31161927.
- Keller JL, Housh TJ, Hill EC, et al. The effects of Shilajit supplementation on fatigue-induced decreases in muscular strength and serum hydroxyproline levels. J Int Soc Sports Nutr 2019;16:3. PMID 30728074.
- Neltner TJ, Sahoo PK, Smith RW, et al. Effects of 8 weeks of Shilajit supplementation on serum pro-c1a1. J Diet Suppl 2022. PMID 36546868.
- Pingali U, Nutalapati C. Shilajit extract reduces oxidative stress, inflammation, and bone loss to dose-dependently preserve bone mineral density in postmenopausal women with osteopenia. Phytomedicine 2022;105:154334. PMID 35933897.
- Sadeghi SMH, et al. Efficacy of Shilajit in tibia fracture repair. J Altern Complement Med 2020;26(6):521-8. PMID 32310691.
- Yadav D, Mishra S, Shah KM, et al. Safety and efficacy of TruBlk Shilajit resin supplementation: a 28-day open-label pilot study. Cureus 2026;18(1):e102372. PMID 41613504.
- Martinez V, et al. Effects of 12 weeks of chromium, fruit extract, and Shilajit supplementation on markers of cardiometabolic health. Nutrients 2025;17(12):2042. PMID 40573153.
- ConsumerLab.com. Shilajit supplements found to contain high amounts of fulvic acid (26 September 2024 news release).
- Hunza Eats. Shilajit Choco Bites product page (ingredients, approximately 0.05 g shilajit per bite, 60 bites per 250 g pack).
This information is provided for general interest only and has not been evaluated by any regulatory authority. Hunza Eats products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease, and are not a substitute for professional medical advice. Please consult your doctor before making changes to your diet or health routine.
Our Bestsellers
More From The Journal